Changes are Coming

It seems the minute I decide to start this blog up again.. my life is about to change. I can’t possibly catch you up in the last 6 1/2 years of my career. So let me just put it in a nutshell.

I have been working at a privately owned facility for the last 6 1/2 years. My training and schooling is in exotic animal training. I was hired to care for and train a variety of animals… all are hoofstock, though recently 2 tortoises have been added to my care and of course there are dogs too.

The owners of this facility have had a string of financial luck. The owner created a well to do business and it was even sold for a hefty price tag in the billions… as well as stock. Yes, now you know where I am going. Since the stock market has plummeted, so has his wealth. They are good people, the family who owns this facility. They may live rich and elaborate lives, but they also have donated lots and lots of money to many charity organizations and have opened programs for children. Not to mention they take generous care of their employees and their employee’s families. Holidays brought huge Christmas bonuses and every year we got raises.. and not little raises.. but dollars at a time.

The facility that I work at is their “little piece of heaven”. I was simply hired to give these animals the best possible life and to stimulate them daily. So that has been my job for the last 6 1/2 years. I have grown to love many of the animals here. I helped raise 5.

Now it seems it is no longer a matter of “maybe” losing my job… but “when”. Yesterday it was sadly admitted to me that the facility will be going up for sale and slowly the animals here will be placed in new homes. The owners tried everything to prevent this from happening, but now it’s come down to they have to.

I lost one mini horse 2 weeks ago. The alpaca was put down last week and now this week I am losing another mini horse and my 4 sheep. One of these sheep is a training animal I have worked closely with. She was the first one to make friends with me all those years ago. I have watched shy sheep that run away suddenly become friendly, with my work.

It’s hard to imagine that one day, my day here will be over. I look across my work area and just can’t believe that one day this area will be empty. One day, I will not be making the drive in. One day, the pup will no longer be able to come to work with me. One day, my parrot will have to move back home with me, where she will not have the luxury of spending her days outdoors.

Never ever.. did anyone think this would ever happen. I will never have a job like this again. I was lucky here. They paid me extremely well for my field. I had full benefits and a 401k. I was free to do what I wanted with my time and the animals. No… I will never have this again.

I’m not sure where I am going to go from here. Right now, I’m focused on taking in as much as possible here. I don’t plan on leaving until they tell me I must. I’m not sure what I want to do. Working in the animal field is demanding. A true labor of love. Perhaps it’s time to just work a regular office job? I will enjoy having 2 days off again and having a true weekend.

But animals are my life. These animals are my life. Animal training is not just what I do… it’s who I am. I’m not sure I want to redefine myself …

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Changes are Coming”

  1. KarrieLyne Says:

    Oh, my dear Gemini Girl..I am so sorry to hear of your news. I can feel your passion in reading your post and saddened me to the point of tears. You are right, it takes an extrodinary person to do what you do and they have been so lucky the last 6.5 years to have you!! I truly hope you find your passion again, if not right away, don’t let it go. You will find it! (((hugs)))
    KarieLyne

Leave a Reply

