losing

Last night when I went to bed, it was kind of a big let down, knowing I needed to get up and go to work the next day. The only thing that made it a little more bearable, was the fact that I make Sundays a half day and that I also go into work an hour later than usual. 

So naturally, this morning on my way to work, I was a little bit in a “downer” mood. Lucky for me, Dave was driving. Being in a downer mood, I started thinking of depressing matters. 

For instance, on Friday a woman came to look at our 4 mini donkeys. I believe we are offering her 3 if she wants them. The male, female and eldest daughter. The youngest daughter will remain with us. She is by far the cutest and the sweetest. She is also the one that I got to see born as well as help raise. She is who she is, in part from my care and training. She is in fact, one of my training animals. Her greatest skill is being able to dance with me and bowling. 

So it comes down to whether or not this woman wants them. If she does, well then, I believe they are hers. I will once again have to say good bye to 3 more animals that I have created a 6 year bond with. Do you know what that’s like? To create a bond with animals for years, and slowly have to watch them leave your care? 

I have mixed emotions about these donkeys leaving. On the one hand, I am happy that the youngest one gets to stay. I admit she is my favorite of the group. On the other hand, I am sad that she is being separated from her family. It will be a hard transition for all donkeys. Even the zedonk will have difficulties. She looks to the mother donkey as a strong figure and feels safe when she is around. Keeping the youngest donkey will at least give someone the zedonk can still bond with and vice versa. 

I am conflicted even still. We are keeping the youngest, but for how long? My understanding is things, are coming to pieces for our facility. I even heard it’s up for sale on the private markets. Why keep her, if farther down the road she will need to find a new home? Why separate her from her family, just so she can eventually be moved somewhere else and be alone? 

I worry for the other animals as well. The ones that have formed strong bonds with each other. As I watch one by one the animals leave, I worry who is next and who will suffer from the loss. 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

