spoke too soon

Perhaps I spoke too soon with my last post. 

After the chaos of all the pig drama, I did write lead woman an email replying to her question about putting the two pigs together. I politely said that if it is what everyone wants to do, then I will be a team player. I expressed that I did not agree with it and gave my reasons. Her reply was to tell me she had no idea what was going on and that she agrees with me. She even told me that she will follow my lead in regards to when it is the right time to put the pigs together. 

I suspect that I will be able to do so next week. I am seeing more positive signs from female pig. 

So yes, perhaps I jumped the gun with Lead woman. 

Before going home on Wednesday, which was a beautiful day of rain rain rain (no I’m not being sarcastic), manager mother called me on my radio to wish me a Happy Thanksgiving. She also hoped that I would be living early to avoid the holiday traffic. Out of my 6 years working there, this is the first time she ever picked up the phone to wish me a Happy Thanksgiving. 

So, again, I think I spoke too soon. 

Thanksgiving was spent at my mother’s. It was her husbands birthday as well. This year, Dave got to go with me, he’s usually in Georgia visiting his own family this time of year. Since we were just in Georgia, that left him free for my Thanksgiving. 

Every year my mom out does herself for Thanksgiving and this year was no exception. My mom is a fantastic cook. Too bad I didn’t take after her. Growing up, I never had an interest to cook and being an only child, well, let’s just say that because we were a small family of 3, I was never relied on to do the cooking once in awhile. So… I never learned how to cook any of her fantastic meals. 

Dave and I were introduced to new friends of my mother. They are a nice couple she met through the corvette club in her area. What I just love the most about any function that I take Dave to, is that I always get so many compliments about him. I am always told how I have met a great guy and I should make sure to hold on to him. They don’t need to tell me twice! I have been through disaster after disaster of relationships… I am happy to finally have Dave in my life. 

In a way, I think I’m kind of jealous. In a good way. Everyone I meet always tells me I have met a great guy in Dave. I don’t think the same has happened in the flip side. In fact, I don’t know if I’m all that special to be considered a “great catch”. 

It was hard getting up this morning and going to work. Hard because I didn’t get enough sleep due to Thanksgiving dinner and the drive home. Extra hard, because I had to leave Dave behind in bed. He got to stay home today while I went into work. I was bummed to be there, but in the end, the day turned out rather pleasant. 

I spent some time observing the pigs and at one point I went to visit male pig. I started scratching his back and he really enjoyed it. Before I knew it, he was laying down in front of me. I spent a good amount of time just petting him. One of the ranch dogs joined us and it was so cute to just see him curl up right beside this 500 + lb pig. Imagine a 40 lb dog, curled up next to a 500 lb pig! It was a really really cute sight. I had wished Dave was there to take a picture with his great camera. 

I spent a lot of time with the tortoises as well. Their grass is getting really short these days. So, because they are still small, I was able to pick them up and move them out to an open grass area. They really enjoyed themselves and I enjoyed watching them graze and explore the area. I kept a watchful eye over then to make sure no one fell over an edge or disappeared. 

My day ended with a visit from Lead Woman. She rode her horse over to my side of the property. She told me she wanted to come over and say hi. I thought that was very nice of her. We chatted for awhile about Thanksgiving. It’s just so strange how nice everyone is being to me. I mean extra nice. These people haven’t been this nice since the day I was hired. Perhaps it’s because they feel sorry knowing how much the loss of the camel means to me. Or maybe because my day will soon come to an end there, so everyone is being nicer.

Tomorrow is my day off… I am looking forward to it. 

Tags: ,

One Response to “spoke too soon”

  1. Dave Says:

    What I get from my family is a long stream of “You seem so much happier!” comments. I take that as a pretty good compliment about you.

Leave a Reply

